Quezada, Cano Applaud Diversity of Court Nominees


STATE HOUSE – Sen. Ana B. Quezada and Sen. Sandra Cano have expressed deep satisfaction and gratitude at the diversity and high caliber of the judicial nominations announced yesterday by Gov. Gina Raimondo.

“We could not be happier with the individuals the governor has nominated, the diversity of the group, and the direction these nominations will take our courts,” said Senator Quezada (D-Dist. 2, Providence). “So many of us have been calling for decades for court benches that better reflect the people of Rhode Island, and finally we have been heard. These nominees – each of them tremendously qualified – will bring with them new perspectives and diversity that our courts so greatly need.”

Yesterday Governor Raimondo announced her nomination of Superior Court Judge Melissa Long and former Sen. Erin Lynch Prata to the Rhode Island Supreme Court. If both are confirmed by the General Assembly, Long would be the first minority Supreme Court justice in Rhode Island, and the Supreme Court bench would have a female majority for the first time.

She also nominated Linda Rekas Sloan to the Superior Court. Senator Quezada had advocated to both the governor and Senate leadership for the appointment of Sloan on multiple occasions over the past year. If confirmed, Sloan will become the first Asian-American to serve on the Rhode Island Superior Court.

Among her other nominees is Elizabeth Ortiz, a first generation Colombian-American who would become the first Latina on the Family Court bench. Senator Cano advocated for her appointment.

“It is so gratifying to see so many women and so many minorities finally being put forward in these nominations. Rhode Island is such a diverse place, and our courts should reflect the people who come before them. These nominations are moving Rhode Island forward, and are a step toward making Rhode Islanders feel understood by those who make the decisions in our courts,” said Senator Cano. We are very grateful to the governor, to the Senate leadership, the House leadership, and to our colleagues in the General Assembly, who we hope will be as excited as we are to support these nominees.”