House appoints working groups to look at

ARPA federal funding, health care policy


STATE HOUSE -- Speaker K. Joseph Shekarchi has appointed members to two working groups that will be studying the state’s use of federal funding through the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA), as well as taking a close look at health care policy issues.

The House ARPA Task Force will be assessing the evolving federal guidelines and evaluating what other states are doing regarding potential projects to fund.  The state has received $1.1 billion in ARPA funds that will be available for use over the next several years.

The House Health Care Policy Task Force will assess the Rhode Island health care delivery system in light of the proposed merger of Lifespan and Care New England.

Both groups will begin their work during the fall and will continue studying the respective issues into the 2022 legislative session.

Members of the House ARPA Task Force are: Representatives Mia Ackerman (D-Dist. 45, Cumberland), Jean-Philippe Barros (D-Dist. 59, Pawtucket), Susan R. Donovan (D-Dist. 69, Bristol, Portsmouth), John G. Edwards (D-Dist. 70, Tiverton, Portsmouth), Alex D. Marszalkowski (D-Dist. 50, Cumberland), George A. Nardone (R-Dist. 28, Coventry), Scott A. Slater (D-Dist. 10, Providence), Teresa A. Tanzi (D-Dist. 34, South Kingstown, Narragansett), Carlos E. Tobon (D-Dist. 58, Pawtucket), Camille F.J. Vella-Wilkinson (D-Dist. 21, Warwick) and Anastasia P. Williams (D-Dist. 9, Providence).

Members of the House Health Care Policy Task Force are: Representatives Jacquelyn Baginski (D-Dist. 17, Cranston), Stephen M. Casey (D-Dist. 50, Woonsocket), Liana Cassar (D-Dist. 66, Barrington, East Providence), Kathleen A. Fogarty (D-Dist. 35, South Kingstown), Rebecca Kislak (D-Dist. 4, Providence) and David J. Place (R-Dist. 47, Burrillville, Glocester).