Rep. Amore named 2022 Policymaker Award recipient by College Board


Rep. Gregg Amore, right, accepting the 2022 Policymaker Award from Julie Harris-Lawrence, Sr. Director of Teacher Outreach Government Relations at College Board.


            STATE HOUSE – Rep. Gregg Amore (D-Dist. 65, East Providence) has been honored with the College Board’s 2022 Policymaker Award for his leadership and advocacy to make Advanced Placement (AP) courses available to any Rhode Island student who wishes to participate.

            “As someone who has taught AP courses, I am a firm believer in their abilities to engage our students and push them past their comfort zones in their educational careers.  These courses prepare our students for their future and to see such growth in not only participation, but also accomplishment, bodes well for the future of our state.  I thank the College Board for this tremendous honor as well as for their role in expanding the minds and educations of our students and I am looking forward to seeing continued growth in AP participation in Rhode Island,” said Representative Amore.

            Last legislative session, Representative Amore’s legislation (2021-H 5350) which made AP courses and tests more accessible to a greater number of students was included in the FY 2022 state budget.  The bill called for the state to pay the AP test fee for students who are unable to afford the cost.  He was also the sponsor of legislation (2021-H 5522A) which would establish a process for the state’s higher education institutions to accept college credit for an AP subject test score of three or better in an AP course.

            The event also highlighted that Rhode Island had the largest ten-year growth in the percentage of public high school graduates taking an AP exam during high school, increasing by 16.1 percentage points.  East Providence High School, where Representative Amore works as the Athletic Director and was a long-time history teacher, was one of five Rhode Island high schools that were recognized for their ongoing commitment to increasing AP access, participation and success which has contributed to the state’s notable AP growth.