Sen. Murray named Senate deputy majority leader


STATE HOUSE – Sen. Melissa A. Murray will serve as a Senate deputy majority leader this session.

Senate President Dominick J. Ruggerio announced the appointment yesterday as the Senate began its 2024 legislative session.

“I’m truly honored to be part of the leadership team in our Senate, and I’m thankful to President Ruggerio, Majority Leader Ryan Pearson, and my colleagues in the Senate for their trust and support. I’m looking forward to having a greater role in all the important work we are doing this session, particularly in making health and education more equitable and improving opportunities for Rhode Islanders to have the quality of life we all deserve,” said Deputy Majority Leader Murray (D-Dist. 24, Woonsocket, North Smithfield).

Senator Murray was first elected to the Senate in 2018. She serves as first vice chairwoman of the Senate Finance Committee, and is a member of the Senate Labor Committee and the Permanent Joint Committee on State Lottery.