Sept. 24, 2019

Sen. Pearson at (401) 276-5568


Senator Pearson appointed to chair task force to study Rhode Island’s education funding formula


STATE HOUSE — Sen. Ryan W. Pearson (D-Dist. 19, Cumberland, Lincoln) has been appointed by Senate President Dominick J. Ruggerio (D-Dist. 4, North Providence, Providence) to chair a special task force to study the state’s education funding formula.

It will be charged with making a comprehensive study of the funding formula and report on its findings and recommendations to the Senate at the beginning of the next session in January.

“We want to take a close look at the state’s funding formula to see whether it’s meeting the needs of students, schools and taxpayers,” said Senator Pearson, who introduced the resolution creating the nine-member task force. “All children should have a meaningful education regardless of economic means, and the funding formula should treat all taxpayers equitably. We want to make sure the formula reflects the needs of students, and provides stable and predictable funding while correcting any inequities.”

Also serving on the commission will be Senators Sandra Cano (D-Dist. 8, Pawtucket), Louis P. DiPalma (D-Dist. 12, Middletown, Newport, Tiverton, Little Compton), Harold M. Metts (D-Dist. 6, Providence), Melissa A. Murray (D-Dist. 24, Woonsocket, North Smithfield), Thomas J. Paolino (R-Dist. 17, Lincoln, North Providence, North Smithfield), Gordon E. Rogers (R-Dist. 21, Foster, Scituate, Coventry, West Greenwich), Adam J. Satchell (D-Dist. 9, West Warwick) and James A. Seveney (D-Dist. 11, Bristol, Portsmouth, Tiverton).

Sen. William J. Conley Jr. (D-Dist. 18, East Providence, Pawtucket), chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, and Sen. Hanna M. Gallo (D-Dist. 27, Cranston, West Warwick), chairwoman of the Senate Education Committee, will serve as members ex-officio.






For an electronic version of this and all press releases published by the Legislative Press and Public Information Bureau, please visit our Web site at